Acadia FCU announces 2024 scholarship recipients

1 month ago
Acadia Federal Credit Union is proud to announce their 2024 scholarship recipients. Halayna Hayes, Ella McCrum, Ellie Kuhl and Austin Jean will each receive $2,000 to help fund their college educations.

“We’re thrilled to award scholarships to these four exceptional students,” said Jill Bouchard Cairns, Acadia FCU’s vice president of employee experience. “Their dedication, hard work, and commitment to academic excellence and community service have truly set them apart. We’re confident that they will continue to achieve great things in life and we’re proud to play a small part in their future successes.”

Hayes is a 2024 graduate of Wisdom High School and plans to attend UMaine to study biology. She is the daughter of Julie Hayes and Jerry Hayes.
McCrum is a 2024 graduate of Hampden Academy and plans to attend Suffolk University in Boston to study finance. She is the daughter of Shawn McCrum.   
Kuhl is a 2024 graduate of John Bapst Memorial High School and plans to attend the University of South Carolina to study public health. She is the daughter of Ryan and Heather Kuhl.
Jean is a 2024 graduate of Fort Kent Community High School and plans to attend the University of Maine at Fort Kent to study business management. He is the son of Jesse and Melissa Jean.
Recipients were selected based on academic credentials, extra-curricular involvement, a written essay, and personal achievements. Scholarship earners will each receive $2,000 toward their education, with $1,000 awarded after the first semester of their first year and the second $1,000 installment payable after the second semester of their second year.
The Acadia FCU scholarship is available to current Maine high school seniors who meet all of the following criteria: (1) attend an Aroostook, Hancock, Penobscot, Piscataquis or Washington County high school; (2) plan to enroll in a two- or four-year college or university; and (3) are an active Acadia FCU member or has at least one parent/ guardian who is an active member.
Class of 2025 students who meet eligibility requirements are encouraged to apply for the Acadia FCU scholarship. The scholarship application will be available at beginning January 15, 2025.

With a rich history dating back to 1963, Acadia Federal Credit Union is the culmination of seven smaller community credit unions and proudly serves Aroostook, Penobscot, Hancock, Washington and Piscataquis counties. With eight branch locations, over 16,000 members, and assets exceeding $355 million, our mission, “Creating exceptional experiences to enrich your life,” guides our dedication to delivering top-tier support and financial solutions, while contributing to the vibrancy of our communities. Discover how our member-owned financial institution can enhance your financial journey by visiting