The Star-Herald

Senate President Troy Jackson announces committee assignments for the 129th Maine Senate

AUGUSTA, Maine — On Friday, Senate President Troy Jackson of Allagash announced the committee assignments for the 129th Maine Senate. There are 17 joint-standing committees and the Government Oversight Committee.

“All 35 members of the Maine Senate bring a specific set of skills and experience to their work in the Legislature,” said President Jackson. “We are here to make Maine a better place to work, live and raise a family. These committee assignments seek to maximize the strengths of all our members so we can make that vision a reality.”

Lawmakers are assigned to committees by the presiding officers based on their interests, experience and professional background. Joint-standing committees are composed of three senators and ten representatives. The Government Oversight Committee is comprised of six senators and six representatives.

Below is a full list of the committee assignments for the Maine Senate:

Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry

James F. Dill, Chair (D-Penobscot)

William Diamond (D-Cumberland)

Russell Black (R-Franklin)

Appropriations and Financial Affairs

Catherine E. Breen, Chair (D-Cumberland)

Linda F. Sanborn (D-Cumberland)

James M. Hamper (R-Oxford)

Criminal Justice and Public Safety

Susan A. Deschambault, Chair (D-York)

Michael E. Carpenter (D-Aroostook)

Kimberley C. Rosen (R-Penobscot)

Education and Cultural Affairs

Rebecca J. Millett, Chair (D-Cumberland)

Everett Brownie Carson (D-Cumberland)

Matthew Pouliot (R-Kennebec)

Energy, Utilities and Technology

Mark W. Lawrence, Chair (D-York)

David R. Miramant (D-Knox)

David Woodsome (R-York)

Environment and Natural Resources

Everett Brownie Carson, Chair (D-Cumberland)

Justin M. Chenette (D-York)

Robert A. Foley (R-York)

Health and Human Services

Geoffrey M. Gratwick, Chair (D-Penobscot)

Ned Claxton (D-Androscoggin)

Marianne Moore (R-Washington)

Innovation, Development, Economic Advancement and Commerce

Erin D. Herbig, Chair (D-Waldo)

Rebecca J. Millett (D-Cumberland)

Stacey K. Guerin (R-Penobscot)

Inland Fisheries and Wildlife

James F. Dill, Chair (D-Penobscot)

Louis Joseph Luchini (D-Hancock)

Paul T. Davis (R-Piscataquis)

Health Coverage, Insurance and Financial Services

Heather B. Sanborn, Chair (D-Cumberland)

Geoffrey M. Gratwick (D-Penobscot)

Robert A. Foley (R-York)


Michael E. Carpenter, Chair (D-Aroostook)

Shenna Bellows (D-Kennebec)

Lisa M. Keim (R-Oxford)

Labor and Housing

Shenna Bellows, Chair (D-Kennebec)

Mark W. Lawrence (D-York)

Stacey K. Guerin (R-Penobscot)

Marine Resources

David R. Miramant, Chair (D-Knox)

Eloise A. Vitelli (D-Sagadahoc)

Dana L. Dow (R-Lincoln)

State and Local Government

Ned Claxton, Chair (D-Androscoggin)

Susan A. Deschambault (D-York)

Paul T. Davis (R-Piscataquis)


Benjamin M. Chipman, Chair (D-Cumberland)

Heather B. Sanborn (D-Cumberland)

Matthew Pouliot (R-Kennebec)


  1. William Diamond, Chair (D-Cumberland)

Benjamin M. Chipman (D-Cumberland)

Bradlee Thomas Farrin (R-Somerset)

Veterans and Legal Affairs

Louis Joseph Luchini, Chair (D-Hancock)

Erin D. Herbig (D-Waldo)

Scott W. Cyrway (R-Kennebec)

Government Oversight Committee

Justin M. Chenette, Chair (D-York)

Linda F. Sanborn (D-Cumberland)

Nathan L. Libby (D-Androscoggin)

Paul T. Davis, Sr. (R-Piscataquis)

Lisa M. Keim (R-Oxford)

Jeffrey L. Timberlake (R-Androscoggin)

Get the Rest of the Story

Thank you for reading your 4 free articles this month. To continue reading, and support local, rural journalism, please subscribe.