Keifer and Clark elected to council

17 years ago

    AUGUSTA, Maine — Leo Keifer of Caribou was elected as chair of the Commissioner’s Advisory Council for the Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife during their monthly meeting on May 24. Joe Clark of Millinocket was elected as vice-chair of the council.
    Kieffer represents Aroostook County on the Advisory Council. As a member of the Maine State Senate, he served eight years in the legislature, where he was a member of the Inland Fisheries and Wildlife Committee, the Agriculture Conservation and Forestry Committee and the Banking and Insurance Committee. Kieffer also served as Minority Leader in the 117th legislature and as Assistant Minority Leader in the 118th. Kieffer is a member of the Presque Isle Fish and Game Club, the Maine Trappers Association, the Maine Snowmobile Association and other affiliations that aim to preserve and enhance all outdoor recreational activities. Kieffer replaces Robert “Bos” Savage of Limington as council chair.
Clark represents Penobscot County. A former legislator, Clark is an active outdoorsman. Clark spent eight years in the House of Representatives, and for six years he was a member of the legislature’s Inland Fisheries and Wildlife Committee, and he was also on the legislature’s Natural Resource Committee for four years.
“I would like to thank Bos for his leadership of the council, and I look forward to working with Leo and Joe in their new positions,” said Roland D. Martin, Commissioner, Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife.
The council also discussed the possibility of a Fall Shotgun Season for wild turkeys this fall (2007). A rule proposal will be submitted soon. The season would last for one week in mid-October in WMDs 15, 16, 17, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24 and 25.
The Advisory Council consists of ten members representing the 16 counties of the state. The Advisory Council works with the Commissioner to provide information and advice concerning the administration of the department, and to review all rules being proposed by the Commissioner and determine if the Commissioner should adopt them. Rules cannot be adopted by the Commissioner without the consent (majority vote) of the council.