Fort Tigers repeat as County golf champions

12 years ago
sp-fort golf-dc3-sh-39
Staff Photo/Joseph Cyr
Fort Fairfield’s Robbie Watson carries his bag along the fairway during Friday’s Aroostook League Championships/regional qualifier which took place in Houlton. Watson had the low round of the day with a 75 and his Tigers placed first as a team as well.

By Joseph Cyr
Staff Writer

HOULTON — The Fort Fairfield golf team was crowned 2012 Aroostook League Golf Champions Friday following an impressive performance at the Houlton Country Club.

The Tigers bested golf squads from Hodgdon, Ashland, Limestone-MSSM and Central Aroostook to claim the championship trophy. The stroke totals from the top four golfers are used to calculate team scores. Fort Fairfield shot 349, followed by CAHS, 404; Hodgdon, 407; Ashland, 417; and Limestone, 442. Southern Aroostook had three golfers compete, but were not able to record a team total for lack of a fourth golfer.

In addition to crowning a league champ, the match also served as a qualifier for the state individual competition, set for Oct 13 at Natanis Golf Course in Vassalboro.

Individuals qualifying for States, with their school included in parenthesis, from Friday’s match, were: Robbie Watson (FF), 75; Meghan Flannigan (L/MSSM), 77; Noah Bernard (FF), 78; Chris Wallace, (Hod), 80; Mark Corella (Ash), 80; Mark Chasse (Ash), 89; and Parker Walker (SA), 89.

Qualifying for the girls state event were Flannigan, Ashley Wallace (Hod), 101; and Jordann Coiley (FF), 105.

Individual results from the match by team were:

Staff Photo/Joseph Cyr
Limestone-MSSM golfer Rebecca Hatt hits a drive during Friday’s Aroostook League Championship/regional qualifier held in Houlton. Teams from Ashland, Central Aroostook, Fort Fairfield and Hodgdon also competed in the tournament.

Ashland — Corella, 80; Cody Blair, 103; Chasse, 89; Gabby Cyr, 152; and Alex Gillis, 145.

Central Aroostook — Alex Folsom, 96; Chandler Brewer, 95; Zack Grass, 96; Kenny Bell, 117; and Cory Richardson, 141.

Fort Fairfield —Watson, 75; Bernard, 78; Brandon Clark, 100; Nate Guimond, 106; Tyler Churchill, 96; Jordann Coiley, 105; and Vince Campbell, 93.

Hodgdon — C. Wallace, 80; Jeff Wheeler, 116; Josh Ganzel, 110; A. Wallace, 101; Greg Griffin, 116; Kendrick Wilson, 106; Jordan Wilson, 125; and Derrick Ellis, 123.

Limestone/MSSM — Flannigan, 77; Tyler Morgan, 107; Jeremy Biastre, 103; Rebecca Hatt, 155; and Karenna Woodworth, 222.

Southern Aroostook — Walker, 89; Trenton Cullinan, 109; and Cameron Landry, 130.