The Star-Herald

Washburn holds municipal election and indefinitely postpones town meeting

WASHBURN, Maine — Washburn held a municipal election on March 16, electing residents to the town council, school board and water and sewer district.


Washburn Town Manager Donna Turner said the town’s annual meeting, initially scheduled for March 17, was postponed amid fears about the COVID-19 pandemic. She said town officials had not decided on the future date of the meeting.

Daren Churchill and Fred Thomas were both elected to three-year terms on the Washburn Town Council.

Erik Vaughn was elected on the ballot, while Jennifer Waltman and Leland Caron were elected as write-ins for three-year terms on the SAD 45 School Board. Washburn Town Clerk Beverly Turner said on March 24 that it was unclear if Waltman and Caron will accept the positions. 

Beverly Thomas was also elected to a one-year term on the SAD 45 School Board. 

Christopher McCoy was elected to a three-year term on the Washburn Water and Sewer District. 

Get the Rest of the Story

Thank you for reading your 4 free articles this month. To continue reading, and support local, rural journalism, please subscribe.