Presque Isle area From our Files – Week of April 12, 2021

3 years ago

75 Years Ago –   April 11, 1946

Rotary’s new president, vice president — By vote of the Board of Directors of the Presque Isle Rotary Club on April 4, 1946, the following officers were elected: President, George W. Perry; Vice President, Frank W. Hussey; Secretary, Fred P. Stevens; Treasurer, Lloyd S. Greenlaw. Directors elected were as follows:

one year: M. S. W. Dingwall, J. R. MacFarlane, M. S. Blackwell; two years: G. W. Perry, F. S. Cunningham, L. S. Greenlaw; three years: W. D. Halloran, F. W. Hussey, and E. W. Loane. The last three were elected at the regular meeting April 1.

At local U.S. recruiting station — Sgt. Clair O. Parsons was assigned to the Army recruiting Station in Presque Isle, Major White announced. Sgt. Parsons held the Silver Star for gallantry in action, the Bronze Star for heroic achievement, the Good Conduct Medal American Theater Ribbon, Allied Operations Ribbon, European Theater Ribbon with four battle stars, and Germany Occupation Ribbon. He served with the 6th Armored Division, 66th Infantry Division, and the 28th Infantry Division in the European fighting a veteran of 15 months in ETO. Sgt. Parsons, formerly a resident of Presque Isle and Caribou, had reenlisted in the regular Army for three years.

50 Years Ago –  April 14, 1971

Mrs. Hutchins won a $500 scholarship — Anne (Moreau) Hutchins, a senior at Ashland Community High School, the wife of Peter Hutchins of Oxbow, and the daughter of Mr. Clair Moreau Sr. of Portage, won a $500 scholarship as a result of tying for first place in the Rural Electrification Contest Test at the University of Maine at Orono on Saturday, April 3. The contest was sponsored by the Electric Power Companies in Maine. Mrs. Hutchins attended the University of Maine at Orono.

Cancer Crusade named chairman — Mrs. James Rathbun, chairman of the American Cancer Crusade for the city of Presque Isle for 1971, was named area chairman for the campaign. Three door-to-door chairmen were assigned the responsibility of selecting assistants for the door-to-door campaign for the entire city. The door-to-door chairmen were Mrs. Walter Adams, Mrs. Kenneth Michaud and Mrs. Carroll Smith. Mrs. J. Aiden Rathbun had been assigned the duties of business contact chairman, while industrial donation chairman was Mrs. Moe Kimmel. Two million other volunteers in thousands of American communities were giving their time to reach people.

25 Years Ago –  April 10, 1996

CAHS student designed winning County seal — Matt Hartt, an aspiring young artist, had his drawing chosen as the symbol for Aroostook County in the next century. The soft-spoken Central Aroostook High School sophomore bested 13 other entries in a contest to design the first-ever seal for Aroostook County. It was unveiled at a March 13 meeting of the Aroostook County Commissioners in Caribou. Hartt, the 16-year-old son of Suzanne and Wayne Hartt of Mars Hill, said the idea for the drawing came to him quickly. It took less than an hour to complete. The seal appeared on stationary and official documents, and Hartt called the honor “pretty cool.”

Hayden Perry received an award — Hayden Perry Insurance Agency was named winner of the 1996 Peerless Insurance Company’s President Award for service excellence, outstanding growth and profitability. The President’s Award was created to recognize consistent excellence among the many fine independent agencies that represent Indiana Insurance in the central U.S. and Peerless Insurance in the eastern U.S., both of which are members of The Netherland Insurance Company (TNIC) . The Netherlands Insurance Companies are members of the ING Group, ranked the No. 1 diversified financial services company in the world.