Presque Isle area From our Files – Week of June 28, 2023

12 months ago

100 Years Ago – June 28, 1923

Presque Isle operators not involved in strike — Locals affiliated with the New England Council of Telephone Operators’ Unions, was signed by Julia S. O’Conner, president of the Telephone Operators Department of New England, on the 24th to take effect Tuesday at 7 o’clock.

The demand on which the order was based, was a 7 hour day and an increase of wages. The operators in the Aroostook Te. and Tel. Companies were not affected by the order, so that the service here was not affected. It was reminded that the operators including those in the Presque Isle exchange went on strike four years prior, at which time there was a week’s interruption of the service. Practical compliance was then made with the demand of the operators, and a new schedule formulated which became an existence.

75 Years Ago – June 24, 1948

Blackwell won the Bowdoin award — William M. Blackwell, the son of Mr. and Mrs. Milton S. Blackwell, who graduated from Presque Isle High school, was awarded an Alumni Fund scholarship at Bowdoin College. Blackwell, an outstanding baseball and basketball player, won the state foul-shooting contest at Portland the previous winter. An honor student, he served as class president one year, was treasurer of the Student council and was prominent in many school activities. 

Hayden was named to the advisory group — Maxwell M. Hayden, Aroostook County representative of the Prudential Insurance Co.’s Maine and New Hampshire agency was chosen as a representative of the company’s eastern region to attend a series of conferences held the previous week at Prudential’s home office in Newark, N.J. Hayden was selected as a member of the newly-organized advisor committee of special agents, representing widely separated sections of the country, that reviewed with home office officials problems concerning the work of the company’s ordinary agencies life underwriters.

50 Years Ago – June 27, 1973

Easton’s oldest citizen — First Selectman Cecil Cronkite presented the Boston Post cane to Easton’s oldest citizen, Mrs. Mabel Huson, at the luncheon meeting of the Easton Seniors group Thursday, June 21. Mrs. Huson was honored by the group on her 91st birthday May 3.

McClay joined the Rotary Club — Sterling McClay was welcomed as a new member when the Mars Hill Rotary Club met Wednesday evening, June 13, at Hartt’s Restaurant. The Rotary Charge was read by President Paul Durost. Acting secretary Gordan Stitham gave a breakdown on the May attendance. A membership committee of Walter Dearborn, Ray Jones and Jack Mazer was set in motion. 

25 Years Ago – July 1, 1998

McCain honored employees — Dana McHatten of Mapleton and Dorothy Gagnon of Crouseville were among North American employees with 25 and 30 years of service with the McCain Group of companies who were honored May 23 at the Golden Age Club. They each earned a 25-year service award. Absent from the event was John Bernier of Easton who worked for McCain Foods Inc. and also received a 25-year service award. Seventy-eight employees were recognized during the annual McCain Group Service Award Dinner in presentation by senior executives from the McCain Group of companies. Thirty-year employees earned an engraved gold watch and an extra week’s paid vacation. Quarter-century recipients earned a gold and diamond lapel pin, a framed certification and a bonus cheque for two week’s salary, in addition to an extra week’s paid vacation.

ATV pulls — Darren Chandler of Mapleton won second place in the 1,200 lb. weight class at the ATV pulls during Mapleton Daze during the weekend. The pulling contest was hosted by the Mapleton ATV Club. Winners that day were: 750 lb class — first, Geoff Skidgell; second, Reno Boucher; third, Brad Dixon. 800 class — first, Darren Chandler; second, Jon Guerrett; third, Geoff Skidgell. 900 class — first, Brent Dyer; second, Tony Boucher; third, Jeff Clark. 1,000 class — first, Dee Lloyd; second, Darren Chandler; third, Gene Cole. 1,200 class — first, Dee Lloyd; second, Darren Chandler; third, Adrien Deschene.