Mills nominates Doak to UM System board

5 years ago

AUGUSTA, Maine — Gov. Janet Mills announced on May 15 that she has nominated two additional candidates to the University of Maine System Board of Trustees, including RSU 39 Superintendent Tim Doak of Fort Kent.

“Patricia Riley and Timothy Doak are experienced, qualified, and well-respected individuals who will help steward the University of Maine System’s core missions and ensure our public universities fulfill their responsibilities to students,” said Mills.

“I am honored to nominate them to the Board of Trustees and am confident in their ability to ensure our state’s higher education institutions lead the nation in learning, research and community engagement,” said the governor.

Doak has served since 2015 as superintendent of Schools for RSU 39, which covers Caribou, Limestone and Stockholm, and since 2016 as superintendent of SAD 20 in Fort Fairfield. Previously, he was superintendent of SAD 27 in Fort Kent, SAD 10 in Allagash and the Madawaska and Grand Isle school departments.

He currently serves on the Jobs for Maine Grads State Board of Advisors, and in 2018 the Maine School Management Association named him Maine’s Superintendent of the Year.

Riley, who lives in Brunswick, has served as CEO of the Center for Health Policy Development and the National Academy for State Health Policy for five years, and previously worked as director of former Gov. John Baldacci’s Office for Health Policy and Finance for eight years. She is on the board of the University of Maine Foundation and several other civic organizations.

Governor Mills previously reappointed James O. Donnelly of Brewer and Kelly A. Martin of Fort Kent to the UMS Board of Trustees, and nominated Sven Bartholomew of Brewer and Hon. Michael H. Michaud to serve as well.