The Star-Herald

Maine Mutual Group holds annual meeting

PRESQUE ISLE, Maine – The annual meeting of Maine Mutual Group was held on April 13 at the company’s corporate headquarters in Presque Isle. Larry M. Shaw, president & chief executive officer announced, after a vote by policyholders present and by proxy, that the following directors were elected to a new three-year term: Samuel W. Collins, Jean M. Deighan and Larry M. Shaw.

Shaw further announced after a vote by policyholders present and by proxy, that Deborah A. Jordan and Deanna S. Sherman were elected as new directors.

Michael M. Young, CPA, CFE, Sr. vice president and chief financial officer, reported the financial results of 2021 to the policyholders present. 

Currently serving on the MMG Insurance Company Board of Directors are: Samuel W. Collins, Board chairman, Caribou; Jean M. Deighan, Bangor; Deborah A. Jordan, Camden; Kevin P. McCarthy, Dunwoody, Georgia; Jay Y. McCrum, Mars Hill; Matthew R. McHatten EVP & COO, Mapleton; Donald W. Perkins, Jr., Cape Elizabeth; Jon J. Prescott, vice chairman, Houlton; Larry M. Shaw, CPCU, president & CEO, Presque Isle; Deanna S. Sherman, South Portland; Donald E. Simon, CPCU, ARe, CIA, LLIF, Lansing, Michigan and Lisa M. Ventriss, South Burlington, Vermont.  

MMG Insurance Company, headquartered in Presque Isle, is a regional property and casualty insurance company with operations in Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Pennsylvania, and Virginia. With roots dating back to 1897 and a history rich in growth, MMG has earned consistent regional and national recognition for superior service, ease of doing business and as a best place to work.  This year marks MMG’s 125th year in business. Today, the Company writes in excess of $231 million in premiums in partnership with over 221 Independent Agencies across more than 577 locations. For more information, visit

Get the Rest of the Story

Thank you for reading your 4 free articles this month. To continue reading, and support local, rural journalism, please subscribe.