39th Cary Classic draws record number of golfers

11 months ago

CARIBOU, Maine – The Cary Classic Benefit Golf Tournament celebrated its 39th year in style, drawing the most players in more than a decade. One hundred and six golfers, including several past champions from throughout northern Maine and western New Brunswick turned out for the one-day, play your own ball tournament.

Ralph Michaud of Fort Fairfield took home the $300 Visa Gift Card grand prize for the men’s division I low gross with an 18-hole score of 74. Jane Hunter of Stockholm took home the $300 gift card grand prize for the ladies division I low gross, finishing with a score of 84. In addition to the cash, the winners were presented with glassware commemorating the 39th Cary Classic Tournament. The tournament featured about $7,000 in prizes, including longest drive, closest-to-the pin and hole-in-on competitions. This year also featured a new men’s seniors division and a new putting contest.  

For the ninth consecutive year Katahdin Trust Company was the Corporate Sponsor of the event, with more than 50 other businesses and organizations generously contributing major, hole and prize sponsorships.  

Tamra Kilcollins, executive director of the Jefferson Cary Foundation was all smiles as the event took advantage of some beautiful weather and a course that was in exceptional condition.

“We are so thrilled with the success of the event,” said Kilcollins, who coordinated the golf tournament for the fifth year. “The staff and volunteers at the Caribou Country Club, the Jefferson Cary Foundation Board Members and everyone associated with the event did an outstanding job getting the course ready and managing the registration and scoring. We are very grateful for the support of so many people, as well as the continued support of our sponsors. We couldn’t have such a successful tournament without the generosity of so many people, organizations and businesses. Proceeds from this year’s Cary Classic will be used to help purchase new equipment for the newly renovated maternal/child floor at Cary Medical Center.”  

The Cary Classic has been held at the Caribou Country Club for all 39 years of its history. In 2024, the tournament will be celebrating its 40th year in combination with Cary Medical Center celebrating 100 years of service to the community.  

Winners from the 39th Cary Classic Golf Tournament are:

Men’s flight A first low gross Ralph Michaud 74; second low gross Ty Dickson 75; third low gross Jon Humphrey 77.

First low net Matt Madore 70; second low net Stephen Clark 73; third low net AJ Edgecomb 74.

Ladies flight A 1st low gross Jane Hunter 84; second low gross Emily Jose 86; third low gross Kris Doody 100.

First low net Dee Pelletier 74; second low net Judy Richards 74; third low net Jane Hochholzer 87.

Men’s flight B first low gross Kyle Grooms 75; second low gross Allen Connor 80; third low gross Carl Flynn 82.

First low net Erik Anderson 72; second low net Kirk Thibeau 74; third low net Shawn Anderson 76.

Ladies flight B first low gross Janice Beaulieu 101; second low gross Viola Kemp 109; third low gross Chelsea Desrosiers 129.

First low net Mary Umphrey 81; second low net Liz Lagasse 117; third low net Searra Herbert 118.

Men’s flight C first low gross Brent Hatchard 79; second low gross Jeff Perley 83; third low gross Jon Glazier 87.

First low net Robbie Irving 70; second low net Frank Bemis 72; third low net Jay Edgecomb 76.

Men’s flight D first low gross Michael Green 87; second low gross Jack Herbert 90; third low gross Troy Connolly 91.

First low net Jim Dunleavy 72; second low net Carter Quist 76; third low net Craig Guastafson 77.

Senior men’s flight first low gross Jeffrey Jose 77; second low gross Steven Gagnon 80; third low gross Curtis Culberson 81.

First low net Hiram Towle 68; second low net John Belanger 70; third low net Terry Hopkins 72.

Closet to the pin men’s # 3/12 Hiram Towle 1’ 10”; Men’s #7/16 Jack Boone 5’ 9.5”; Ladies #3/12 Mary Umphrey 39’ 1”; Ladies #7/16 Emily Jose 10’ 10”.

Longest drive men’s #8/17 Ben Rosser; ladies #8/17 Dee Pelletier; Sr. men #8/17 Curt Culberson.

Putting contest a.m.Troy Connolly; p.m. tie, Hiram Towle and Terry Hopkins.